President's Reading List

 

March

The 2016 NAIS conference gave ERB the opportunity to present the workshop "Mindful Insights Into Student SEL Development" with two experts in the field of Social and Emotional Learning who are not only experts in the subject but also passionate. The passion that Anabel Jensen and Denise Pope share for students and SEL was on display throughout the workshop and in the conversations they shared with attendees after the session. ERB is happy to recommend a few of the books that Anabel and Denise wrote and collaborated on in this month's President's Reading List.   

 

We're also interested in what our members are reading! To share your reading recommendations, please email ERB at readinglist@erblearn.org.

 
Title: Doing School: How We Are Creating a Generation of Stressed Out, Materialistic, and Miseducated Students

Authors: Denise Pope

Subject: Education

Recommended By: David Clune, Ph.D., ERB President

 

Description:

This book offers a highly revealing and troubling view of today's high school students and the ways they pursue high grades and success. Denise Pope, veteran teacher and curriculum expert, follows five motivated and successful students through a school year, closely shadowing them and engaging them in lengthy reflections on their school experiences. What emerges is a double-sided picture of school success. On the one hand, these students work hard in school, participate in extracurricular activities, serve their communities, earn awards and honours, and appear to uphold school values. But on the other hand, they feel that in order to get ahead they must compromise their values and manipulate the system by scheming, lying, and cheating. In short, they "do school", that is, they are not really engaged with learning nor can they commit to such values as integrity and community. The words and actions of these five students - two boys and three girls from diverse ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds - underscore the frustrations of being caught in a "grade trap" that pins future success to high grades and test scores.

 

Their stories raise critical questions that are too important for parents, educators, and community leaders to ignore. Are schools cultivating an environment that promotes intellectual curiosity, cooperation, and integrity? Or are they fostering anxiety, deception, and hostility? Do today's schools inadvertently impede the very values they claim to embrace? Is the "success" that current assessment practices measure the kind of success we want for our children?

 

Learn More

 

Title: Overloaded and Underprepared: Strategies for Stronger Schools and Healthy, Successful Kids

Authors: Denise Pope, Maureen Brown, and Sarah Miles 

Subject: Education

Recommended By: David Clune, Ph.D., ERB President

 

Description:

During our first decade, we have learned what works and what doesn’t when trying to make changes in schools and in homes. At the urging of those who have worked closely with us, we decided to write a book of best practices that we hope will be shared widely so that more schools and families can benefit from what we have learned.


Our society’s over-emphasis on grades, test scores, and rote answers has stressed out some students and marginalized many more. We know that these students have lost their enthusiasm for learning and aren’t retaining important concepts and skills. Overloaded and Underprepared: Strategies for Stronger Schools and Healthy, Successful Kids provides the tools needed to begin making immediate changes at school, in the community, and at home that will benefit all kids.


Our current fast-paced, high-pressure culture works against everything we know about healthy child development. While there is content that must be mastered, our singular focus on results has led to a lack of attention to other components of a successful life — the ability to be independent, adaptable, ethical, and motivated critical thinkers. Based on over 10 years of work in the field and over 20 case studies from Challenge Success schools, Overloaded and Underprepared serves as a guide for change, offering practical solutions that can be implemented in a single classroom or on a school-wide scale. The book describes in detail the research-based SPACE framework, providing best practices on:

 

  • Students’ schedule and use of time
  • Project and problem-based learning
  • Alternative and authentic assessments
  • Climate of care
  • Education of parents, students, and faculty about well-being


Overloaded and Underprepared helps educators and parents better prepare students — mentally, emotionally, and academically — to handle the challenges they will face in school and in life.

 

Learn More

 

Title: Feeling Smart: Competencies, Recommendations and Exercises

Authors: Anabel Jensen, PhD

Subject: Education

Recommended By: David Clune, Ph.D., ERB President

 

Description:

Feeling Smart is a practical curriculum for educators to introduce the key competencies of emotional intelligence. Each lesson is a “graphic organizer,” a worksheet to help students organize and expand their thinking while also reflecting on their feelings.
To help teachers understand how these worksheets function, there is a sample of each worksheet that accompanies this download — plus all the worksheets are provided in electronic format so you can print as many as you need for your class.

 

Learn More

 
Title: Self-Science: Getting Started with Social Emotional Learning

Authors: Anabel Jensen, PhD

Subject: Education

Recommended By: David Clune, Ph.D., ERB President

 

Description:

Self-Science — so named because emotional intelligence grows from the scientific study of our relationships and ourselves — is one of the few comprehensive, developmental, and research-based curricula for creating a school-wide culture of emotional intelligence.  Self-Science was first published in 1978 and has been used by hundreds of schools around the globe; this third edition revises and updates the curriculum to be more teacher-friendly and cohesive with the Six Seconds Model of Emotional Intelligence.


In this kit, schools will find the foundation to build an effective social-emotional learning program. Unlike most “packages,” Self-Science is a process with a clear competency model and a methodology that can be adapted and integrated into the classroom and school. With minimal training and support, teachers will be able to learn a practical framework and process for teaching these skills. When effectively implemented, Self-Science creates a powerful shift in the learning environment toward collaboration, inclusion, and humanism, which significantly reduces destructive behavior while also increasing academic performance.  In one study, 100% of the teachers said Self-Science increased cooperation and improved classroom relationships. Seventy five percent said after using the program, both violence and “put-downs” decreased, plus students became more focused and their achievement improved. 

 

Learn More

 

Archive

February

Title: Four-Dimensional Education: The Competencies Learners Need to Succeed

Authors: Charles Fadel, Maya Bialik, and Bernie Trilling

Subject: Education

Recommended By: David Clune, Ph.D., ERB President

 

Description:

What should students learn to best prepare for the twenty-first century?  In this book, the Center for Curriculum Redesign (CCR) describes a framework built to address this question, so that curriculum is redesigned for versatility and adaptability, to thrive in our volatile present and uncertain future. The framework focuses on knowledge (what to know and understand), skills (how to use that knowledge), character (how to behave and engage in the world), and meta-learning (how to reflect on and adapt by continuing to learn and grow). This book is essential for teachers, department heads, heads of schools, administrators, policymakers, standard setters, curriculum and assessment developers, and other thought leaders and influencers, who seek to develop a thorough understanding of the needs and challenges we all face, and to help devise innovative solutions.

 

Learn More

 

Title: The Triple Focus: A New Approach to Education

Authors: Daniel Gleman and Peter Senge

Subject: Social and Emotional Learning

Recommended By: Dan Aks, ERB COO

 

Description:

Daniel Goleman and Peter Senge provide educators with a rationale for incorporating three core skill sets in the classroom--understanding self, other, and the larger systems within which we operate--and show why these competencies are needed to help students navigate a fast-paced world of increasing distraction and growing interconnectedness. The book also offers examples of model educational programs that include these competencies in their curriculum, and shares best practices for introducing them in schools.

 

Learn More

 

Title: How Will You Measure Your Life?

Authors: Clayton M. Christensen, James Allworth, and Karen Dill

Subject: Business and Personal

Recommended By: David Clune, Ph.D., ERB President

 

Description:

From the world's leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author if The Innovator's Dilemma, Clayton M. Christenson, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen's The Innovator's Dilemma notably the only business book that Apple's Steve Jobs said " deeply influenced" him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch's The Last Lecture and Anna Quindlen's A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Christensen's How Will Your Measure Your Life is a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader--student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child--forge their own paths to fulfillment.

 

Learn More